Sitemap | Contact | Imprint
FoundationJury of the Award  

Jury of the Award


The Jury is internationally composed. A balanced composition of the jury members according to the Alpine language zones is aimed at.

The Jury comprises the professional sections relevant for the auditing in skiing areas. It is composed as follows:

  • 2 member of the foundation committee and/or the academic support
  • 1 representative of FIS
  • 1 representative of FIANET (operator-associations)
  • 1 representative of skiing area operators (i.e. a laureate of the „Pilot-price“)
  • 1 representative of CIPRA International (Environmental associations) - 09 observer status
  • 1 representative of the Alpine convention respectively the Alpine conference
  • 1 representative of climate research
  • 1 representative of tourism research

JURY 2011

Hans Brunhart
from Liechtenstein, president of the foundation, is member of the jury. He contributes his knowledge as a former member of the government of the Principality of Liechtenstein and as the president of the supervising board of the VP-bank.

Prof. Dr. Florin Florineth is head of the institute of soil bioengineering and landscape construction at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. Since he was born in South-Tyrol, he is a profound expert of alpine ski resorts. He is a recognized expert in the field of greening of ski resorts and protection against erosion in mountain areas.

The award also copes with changes in mountain areas such as climate change. In this context Dr. Herbert Formayer contributes his expertise. Since 1998 Herbert Formayer is engaged in various research projects dealing with climate change, tourism and particularly snow guarantee for ski resorts.

Hans Höhener
is the chairman of the supervising board of the Säntis-Schwebebahn AG and former president of the “Seilbahnen Schweiz (SBS)”association. He represents the FIANET and is a member of the directors committee of the OITAF. In this context he is not only a qualified “insider” of the cable car industry but contributes experiences and framework conditions of Switzerland to the council.

Erwin Lauterwasser
managed the forestry commission in Freiburg for over 20 years and has been involved in the development of sustainable ski resorts in the Schwarzwald region, Germany. He continued these experiences as a long-time vice-president of the German ski federation (DSV), by founding a board of environmental advisers in the DSV and in his actual occupation as an environmental officer of the International ski federation.

Dr. Felix Näscher manages the National Office of Forests, Nature and Land Management in the Principality of Liechtenstein since 1984. In this context he has been engaged for sustainable environment- and development activities on national and international level. This includes the involvement in juries, the consultancy work and the supervision of sustainable projects.

Dr. Mitja Pavliha, a Slovenian architect and spatial planner is currently the general director of the department of spatial planning of the Slovenian ministry of environment and spatial planning. In the past he was occupied especially with questions of spatial planning and traffic planning. Mitja Pavliha is president of the permanent commission of the Alpine Conference.

The touristic and economic perspective is represented by Prof. Dr. Harald Pechlaner. Born in South-Tyrol he is professor for tourism at the Catholic University of Eichstädt-Ingolstadt and director of its centre of entrepreneurship.

Georges Ribière
is member of the national environmental and planning department in France. His specialisation is based on sustainable spatial development under the consideration of biodiversity on the one hand, and spatial planning combined with tourism on the other hand.


Conference September 2015

More information will be announced soon!

Former activities:

Conference September 2014

Conference on glaciers - "topless in the future-? glacier areas in times of change"

Salzburg, September 28th, 2011

for further information please see

conference will be held in german with presentations available in english!

AWARD 2011 -Announcement of the winners -  on march 9th 2011!

at the XI. Alpine Conference in SLO

March 2011, at Brdo pri Kranju/Slovenia